Skip to main content

Main Area


How every Super Bowl winner fared the following season

  • How every Super Bowl winner fared the following season

    While fans of the Los Angeles Rams and New England Patriots are wholly focused on the big game Feb. 3, there are 30 other NFL teams already dreaming of next season. Those on the outside looking in can take solace in the fact that not many teams repeat as Super Bowl champions, so the 2019 field is wide open.

    Only on eight occasions has a Super Bowl winner repeated as champ. Consider this your kickoff show for Super Bowl LIII, as Stacker has compiled every Super Bowl winner since the first game in 1967, and included that team’s following season’s record and what led them to repeat glory or fall short of the promised land. A variety of records were used, with databases like and Pro-Football-Reference as guides.

    For Rams and Pats faithful, it’s never too early to start thinking—and worrying—about next year.

    RELATED: Ranking every quarterback performance in Super Bowl history

  • Super Bowl I: Green Bay Packers

    Following season's record: 9-4-1

    When the Packers thrashed the Kansas City Chiefs 35-10 in Super Bowl I, they did so under the balmy Los Angeles sun. Those conditions were a stark contrast to the environment surrounding Green Bay's most infamous game the following season, when the legend of the “frozen tundra” of Lambeau Field reached mythical levels. On Dec. 31, 1967, the Packers outlasted the Dallas Cowboys in the NFL championship game, in a contest remembered as the “Ice Bowl.” The minus 13-degree temperature for kickoff could not stop the home team though, as the Packers outlasted the Cowboys, 21-17, and headed to their second straight Super Bowl.

  • Super Bowl II: Green Bay Packers

    Following season's record: 6-7-1

    The Packers once again dominated a foe from the upstart American Football League in Super Bowl II, stymying the Oakland Raiders, 33-14. Green Bay kicker Don Chandler equaled Oakland's output himself with 14 points, highlighted by four field goals. There would be no three-peat in store for the Packers though, as Green Bay stumbled to a below .500 record in 1968, and missed the postseason. Cheeseheads would not witness their team in another Super Bowl until 1997.

  • Super Bowl III: New York Jets

    Following season's record: 10-4

    Joe Willie Namath guaranteed the Jets would win Super Bowl III and in stunning fashion, the playboy with the golden arm led New York to a shocking upset of the heavily favored Baltimore Colts, 16-7, at the Orange Bowl in Miami. With the victory, the Jets forever altered the landscape of professional football, proving that teams from the American Football League were on par with the old guard from the National Football League. The Jets made the playoffs the following season, but lost to the Kansas City Chiefs. Namath had a horrid afternoon, completing only 14 of 40 pass attempts while tossing three interceptions. Alas, Super Bowl III was the pinnacle of Namath's career, which became ravaged by injuries, and the Jets have never made it back to the Super Bowl.

  • Super Bowl IV: Kansas City Chiefs

    Following season's record: 7-5-2

    After beating the New York Jets in the 1969 playoffs, the Chiefs' punishing defense steamrolled its way to Super Bowl IV, where they topped the Minnesota Vikings 23-7. With legendary coach Hank Stram calling the plays, the Chiefs jumped out to a 16-0 lead before the Vikings got on the board with a touchdown—the Jets also had a 16-0 lead in the previous year's Super Bowl before winning 16-7. Len Dawson connected with Otis Taylor to put the game away, 23-7. Kansas City appeared prime for a repeat run, but lost its final two games of the 1970 regular season and missed out on the playoffs.

  • Super Bowl V: Baltimore Colts

    Following season's record: 10-4

    The Colts avenged their Super Bowl III disappointment by marching back into the Orange Bowl two years later and holding off the Dallas Cowboys in Super Bowl V, 16-13. The game was marked by sloppy play, which earned it the name the “Blunder Bowl,” but the Colts' Jim O'Brien executed a kick of beauty when he nailed a 32-yard field goal with five seconds remaining to seal the win. The Colts went 10-4 the following year, but fell in the conference championship game to the Miami Dolphins. The 1971 campaign was the last time Hall of Fame quarterback Johnny Unitas helmed the Colts in the playoffs, but he forever had a haircut you could set your watch to.

  • Super Bowl VI: Dallas Cowboys

    Following season's record: 10-4

    One year after falling to the Baltimore Colts in Super Bowl V, the Cowboys dominated the Miami Dolphins in Super Bowl VI, 24-3. Roger Staubach threw two touchdown passes and won the game's most valuable player award, and bandwagon fans from across the country rejoiced. The Cowboys were dealt a blow in 1972 when Staubach separated his shoulder, but the team still posted a 10-4 mark, before being dispatched by the Washington Redskins in the conference championship game.

  • Super Bowl VII: Miami Dolphins

    Following season's record: 12-2

    The 1972 Dolphins remain the only NFL team to accomplish a perfect season, and legend has it that the surviving members pop some bubbly each year to remind the league's other 31 teams of their excellence whenever the last unbeaten team falls (members of the ‘72 champs have disputed this myth). The Miami defense collected three interceptions against the Washington Redskins in Super Bowl VII, and carried that momentum into the following season when they became the first AFC team to win back-to-back titles.

  • Super Bowl VIII: Miami Dolphins

    Following season's record: 11-3

    The 1973 Dolphins finally lost a game—two to be exact, but still were heads above the rest of the league. In Super Bowl VIII, Miami overwhelmed the Minnesota Vikings, 24-7, propelled by Larry Csonka, a gladiator on the gridiron who went on to host the first run of “American Gladiators” on television. The Dolphins' run of success finally came to a halt the next season, as they lost in the divisional round of the playoffs to the Oakland Raiders.

  • Super Bowl IX: Pittsburgh Steelers

    Following season's record: 12-2

    The Steelers won their first of a record six Super Bowls in 1975, taking Super Bowl IX, 16-6, over the Minnesota Vikings. Franco Harris rumbled to 158 yards rushing and one touchdown, picking up MVP honors. Pittsburgh's Steel Curtain defense continued to punish opponents into the 1975 campaign, as they won 11 of their final 12 regular season games, then carried that momentum into the playoffs.

  • Super Bowl X: Pittsburgh Steelers

    Following season's record: 10-4

    With a 21-17 victory over the Dallas Cowboys in Super Bowl X, the Steelers became the third team to capture consecutive Super Bowls. This clash between two of the NFL's most storied franchises was memorable for the grace and spee of Lynn Swann, who pulled in 161 yards receiving, including an iconic 64-yard touchdown pass in the fourth quarter that sealed the Pittsburgh win—and just maybe helped land him a gig in “The Waterboy.” While the Steelers would remain a perennial contender throughout the decade, they could not clinch a three-peat, falling to the Oakland Raiders in the 1976 AFC championship game.


2018 All rights reserved.